Why, oh WHY do we need another music/art/film/etc. blog…?

Who?

I’m a Bristol-based artist/musician that goes by the name of Eleanor VS. (but my family and friends call me Vanessa). Since I can remember I’ve been annoying my family and neighbours with my incessant singing and guitar-strumming. Also since I was young, I’ve loved to read and write. As I got older I discovered I wasn’t too bad at drawing. I also discovered that films are not only a means of entertainment. Then I did something that really pissed my parents off and left school to pursue all this creative stuff. Because, y’know… art is my religion.

Basically, I’m one of those unbearably annoying people that would say something pretentious and nauseating, like: art is my religion.

What?

So this is yet another blog, created to cover the cliché and fashionable things that everybody seems to be covering, interested in or doing these days: music, art, film and photography.

Why?

In reality, we probably don’t need another one of these blogs. And yet here we are. I guess my reason for doing this is that, as a musician trying to make a career for herself, I know exactly what it’s like when you’re starting out — and especially when you’re independent. For some reason people don’t really want to lend a hand – it’s always “what’s in it for me”. For some reason people really aren’t interested until everybody else is (which is exactly when you need their interest the least!) – apparently only when you are viable do you become valuable.

You’ll tell me that that’s just the way it is, and a part of me can understand that. But at the same time another part of me can’t. Because I think that’s a load of crap.

Leave a Reply

